States That Require Resale Certificates

3 stars / 42 votes

Sales Tax by State: How to Use and Accept Resale Certificates

SALE
OFF

You can do this by presenting a resale certificate (sometimes called a reseller’s permit or by other names) to your vendor at checkout. However, just like with anything sales tax related, how to use a resale certificate varies from state to state.


Someone just saved $11.22 off their order!

9 States that Won't Accept Your Out-of-State Resale ...

SALE
OFF

Your resale certificate. As it turns out, some states won’t accept an out-of-state resale certificate. Your resale certificate is based on your sales tax permit in the state where you live, and is your way of proving to a seller that you are buying products in order to resale them at retail.


Someone just saved $44.75 off their order!

10 States that Won't Accept Your Out-of-State Resale ...

SALE
OFF

Your resale certificate. As it turns out, some states won’t accept an out-of-state resale certificate. Your resale certificate is based on your sales tax permit in the state where you live, and is your way of proving to a seller that you are buying products in order to resale them at retail.


Someone just saved $48.24 off their order!

What is a resale certificate and who can use one?

SALE
OFF

In some states, resale certificates are also used to purchase taxable services that become a part of property for resale. Resale certificates are usually provided in a “blanket” form. This means that the resale certificate applies to all items purchased from the vendor. States that allow for resale exemptions either accept a state-issued ...


Someone just saved $11.10 off their order!

Resale Certificates in 2020: How To Use, Accept & Other ...

SALE
OFF

The 9 US States That Do Not Accept Out of State Resale Certificates: California. Florida. Hawaii. Illinois. Louisiana. Maryland. Massachusetts. Washington. Washington D.C.


Someone just saved $31.43 off their order!

Sales tax permits: A state-by-state guide – Avalara

SALE
OFF

Some states, like Connecticut, still require sellers with nexus to obtain a sales tax permit and file returns. But some, like Iowa, don’t require individual sellers to register for a sales tax permit or file returns if all their sales in the state are made through collecting marketplaces.


Someone just saved $40.17 off their order!

List: Which States Require Sellers to Renew ... - TaxJar Blog

$10
OFF

Rhode Island – sales tax permits are good for one year and after that must be renewed for $10 ( Renew your Rhode Island sales tax permit) Additionally, Maryland, Idaho and South Carolina require sellers to renew temporary sales tax permits.


Someone just saved $14.99 off their order!

What is a resale certificate and how to get one in 2020 ...

SALE
OFF

What is a resale certificate and how to get one in 2020? have an office. have a warehouse. have an employee. have an affiliate. store inventory. temporarily do physical business – trade show, fair, etc. dropshipping from a 3 rd party pro vider.


Someone just saved $33.63 off their order!

When do you need to collect a sales tax exemption certificate?

SALE
OFF

If you have nexus with a state resulting from physical presence or a remote sales tax law, you’re required to collect an exemption certificate whenever you don’t charge a customer sales tax on a taxable transaction. No exceptions. Without a record of why the sale went untaxed,...


Someone just saved $22.5 off their order!

Which States Don’t Accept Out-of-state Resale Certificates ...

SALE
OFF

Nov 22, 2019 · Suppliers are not very knowledgeable on what resale certificate documentation they can accept. We’ve seen suppliers deny out-of-state resale certificates in states that accept out-of-state resale certificates, and require their vendors to register for an in-state sales tax permit.


Someone just saved $10.63 off their order!

What is a resale certificate and who can use one? | Sales ...

SALE
OFF

These elements are: Name and address of purchaser. Name and address of seller. Registration number of purchaser. Description of property purchased for resale. Reason for exemption. Statement that if the property is put to use in a taxable manner that the purchaser will remit the consumer’s use tax. ...


Someone just saved $22.21 off their order!

What Exemption Certificate Registration Looks Like

SALE
OFF

State-issued exemption and resale certificates can be found on a state tax authority’s website. There are often different certificates for different situations or industries, as seen on the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Exemption Certificates for Sales Tax page. ... 3 states require a reseller to be registered in that ...


Someone just saved $22.45 off their order!

How do Drop Shipments work for sales tax purposes? | Sales ...

SALE
OFF

In some other states, they will accept a multi-state resale or exemption form such as the Multistate Tax Commission (MTC) exemption certificate with the home state registration number or in the Streamlined States, the Streamlined Sales Tax Exemption certificate with the home state...


Someone just saved $13.68 off their order!

Resale Certificate FAQ for Online Sellers

SALE
OFF

A resale certificate is a document that allows registered retailers to buy items for resale without paying sales tax on those items. Some states issue official resale certificates tailored to your business that can you print and give to your suppliers. Other states offer a template for you to fill out with your resale certificate number.


Someone just saved $37.58 off their order!

Resale Certificates - California

SALE
OFF

Resale Certificates. When purchasing items for resale, registered sellers may avoid the sales tax by giving their supplier adequate documentation in the form of a resale certificate. A resale certificate indicates the item was in good faith that the purchaser would …


Someone just saved $33.44 off their order!

Department of Taxation and Finance New York State and ...

SALE
OFF

Form ST-120, Resale Certificate, is a sales tax exemption certificate. This certificate is only for use by a purchaser who: A – is registered as a New York State sales tax vendor and has a valid Certificate of Authority issued by the Tax Department and is making purchases of tangible personal property (other than motor fuel or


Someone just saved $21.80 off their order!

Multistate Tax Commission - Resources

SALE
OFF

The Certificate itself contains instructions on its use, lists the States that have indicated to the Commission that a properly filled out form satisfies their requirements for a valid resale certificate, and sets forth specific limitations on its use. Please visit our …


Someone just saved $14.2 off their order!

Tax Exemption Certificate Survival Guide - Management Tips ...

SALE
OFF

Tax-free sales can put a monkey wrench in the tax strategy of even the most compliance-conscious business. With many businesses still using filing cabinets to hold physical certificates, errors are almost inevitable, and the taxman has noticed: missing, expired, or invalid exemption certificates are the most common cause of sales tax audit trouble.


Someone just saved $29.43 off their order!

Texas Sales and Use Tax Frequently Asked Questions

SALE
OFF

While resale certificates require the purchaser’s Texas taxpayer number, the customer's sales tax permit number or a copy of the customer's permit is not a substitute for a resale certificate and does not relieve a seller’s responsibility for collecting sales tax.


Someone just saved $44.9 off their order!

What Are the Differences Between a State Exempt & Resale ...

SALE
OFF

Exempt certificates and resale certificates are very similar documents with the major difference being that an exemption certificate does not require a taxpayer ID number to be legally valid. A ...


Someone just saved $35.20 off their order!

01-339 Sales and Use Tax Resale Certificate / Exemption ...

SALE
OFF

I understand that it is a criminal offense to give a resale certificate to the seller for taxable items that I know, at the time of purchase, are purchased for use rather than for the purpose of resale, lease or rental, and depending on the amount of tax evaded, the offense may range from a Class C misdemeanor to a felony of the second degree.


Someone just saved $31.11 off their order!

7 Things Resellers Need to Know about Resale Certificates

SALE
OFF

Someone just saved $30.83 off their order!

What Is a Resale Certificate?

SALE
OFF

Therefore, if you sell merchandise in more than one state, you will need to apply for resale certificates in the all states in which you operate—it does not matter where your business was incorporated. One of the requirements for a resale certificate is to be qualified in your state to do business.


Someone just saved $19.21 off their order!

Florida Dept. of Revenue - Annual Resale Certificate for ...

SALE
OFF

Question:What documentation is required to exempt sales when the purchaser is an out-of-state dealer who does not have a Florida Annual Resale Certificate for Sales Tax? Please refer to Rule 12A-1.0015(3), Florida Administrative Code, for information regarding sales to nonresident dealers.


Someone just saved $50.75 off their order!

SALES TAX FORM ST-3

SALE
OFF

I, the undersigned purchaser, have read and complied with the instructions and rules promulgated pursuant to the New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Act with respect to the use of the Resale Certificate, and it is my belief that the seller named herein is not required to collect the sales or


Someone just saved $32.90 off their order!

How to Use a Michigan Resale Certificate

SALE
OFF

Retailers who wish to buy items tax free for resale in the state of Michigan must present a Michigan resale certificate to the seller when making the purchase. For this purpose, Michigan provides Michigan Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption form 3372 for …


Someone just saved $17.68 off their order!

How to Buy Items for Resale in Alabama

SALE
OFF

Unlike many other states, you are not required to fill out a resale certificate. Instead, just a copy of your sales tax license will do the trick. Alabama even allows retailers to accept out-of-state resale certificates. Keep in mind that you are only allowed to buy items you intend to resell without paying sales tax.


Someone just saved $42.87 off their order!

Ampersand Accounting | Resale Certificates and Drop ...

SALE
OFF

Some states, however, are very rigid and will only accept a resale certificate from the destination state with a registration number issued by the registration state. These states include California, Washington, Illinois, Maryland, and Massachusetts.


Someone just saved $13.82 off their order!

DOR: Sales Tax

SALE
OFF

If your business sells goods or tangible personal property, you’ll need to register to collect a seven percent sales tax. This registration allows you to legally conduct retail sales in the state of Indiana. Once your registration is completed and processed, you’ll be issued a Registered Retail Merchant Certificate …


Someone just saved $15.49 off their order!

Do you need a sellers permit/Resale certificate to ...

SALE
OFF

Please, if you know, also state weather or not you need a sellers certificate and resale certificate to sell used clothing on eBay. If you are talking about a resale certificate that exempts you from paying sales tax when you buy items for resale, that would have absolutely nothing to do with your selling activity on eBay.


Someone just saved $39.12 off their order!

Out-of-State Sellers | Georgia Department of Revenue

SALE
OFF

In general, the Uniform Sales and Use Tax Multi-Jurisdictional Certificate of Exemption or the certificate of exemption from the purchaser's home state bearing the purchaser’s resale registration number will serve as sufficient proof that the transaction is not a taxable retail sale. O.C.G.A. § 48-8-38, Third Party Drop Shipment Policy ...


Someone just saved $35.88 off their order!

Ohio Department of Taxation > sales_and_use > information ...

SALE
OFF

Paper certificates require, as one of the data elements, a signature from the consumer. No signature is required on electronic certificates. For more information on the proper use of exemption certificates in specific situations, see Rules 5703-9-03, 5703-9-10, 5703-9-14 and 5703-9 …


Someone just saved $49.92 off their order!

Ohio Department of Taxation > sales_and_use > information ...

SALE
OFF

Paper certificates require, as one of the data elements, a signature from the consumer. No signature is required on electronic certificates. For more information on the proper use of exemption certificates in specific situations, see Rules 5703-9-03, 5703-9-10, 5703-9-14 and 5703-9 …


Someone just saved $30.86 off their order!

Which States Require Resale Certificates Lumber trading in OR

SALE
OFF

Question : Which States Require Resale Certificates . Need to set up my new business. I'm starting my own Lumber trading Business the business name is PortlandInc Lumber tradingCompany Lumber tradingxoom and I'm located in Portland, OR.


Someone just saved $15.91 off their order!

Reseller permits | Washington Department of Revenue

SALE
OFF

Reseller permits are distributed by the State and allow: Retailers and wholesalers to purchase items for resale without paying sales tax. Manufacturers to purchase ingredients or components that are used to create a new article for sale without paying sales tax.


Someone just saved $31.20 off their order!

What You Need to Know About Resale Certificates and Packages

SALE
OFF

Jul 14, 2017 · Certificates needed in a hurry often come with additional fees, so patience can be a virtue in this process. Where do I get a resale certificate or package? After the contract on a home is signed, most states require that the seller provides the resale package to the buyer.


Someone just saved $12.9 off their order!

How Does a Sales Tax Certificate Work?

SALE
OFF

Jan 14, 2019 · If you do business in several states, you may have to apply to each of those states to receive a sales tax certificate. First, you need to establish whether you have a sales tax nexus in each state. A tax nexus is a specific way to determine if a business is required to pay taxes in that state.


Someone just saved $34.32 off their order!

Resale Certificate | SanMar

SALE
OFF

Certain states require us to have a current Resale Certificate form on file for each of our customers. Orders cannot be processed until we receive this form.


Someone just saved $45.99 off their order!

What is a Resale Certificate? (with pictures)

SALE
OFF

Nov 03, 2019 · @anon90722, I think that means you need to consult someone about the tax laws in Kentucky. While you might not need a new license, they might require you to get a Kentucky state resale certificate to go along with the one you likely have from Florida if you want to do business in a way involving both states.


Someone just saved $41.53 off their order!

Publication 103, Sales for Resale - CDTFA

SALE
OFF

Accepting a resale certificate late does not relieve the seller from liability for the tax. If we question a transaction and the seller accepted a certificate late, the seller will be required to present other satisfactory evidence to verify that the sale was a nontaxable sale for resale (see Regulation 1668, Sales for Resale).


Someone just saved $44.52 off their order!

Drop Shipping and Sales Tax: A Simple Guide | Bench Accounting

SALE
OFF

Jan 17, 2018 · Resale certificates and drop shipping. A resale certificate allows a retailer to buy products to resell without paying sales tax on those products. As a retailer, you can present your resale certificate to your vendor to let them know that they aren’t required to collect sales tax from you.


Someone just saved $21.62 off their order!

Sales Tax Exemptions Exist in Every State

SALE
OFF

Sales Tax Exemptions Exist in Every State In every state, certain types of items, most commonly food and medicine, are exempt from sales tax or are taxed at lower rates. Certain types of sales transactions are exempt from sales tax, not because the item itself is nontaxable but because of some characteristic of either the buyer or the seller.


Someone just saved $40.22 off their order!

When Do Texas Sellers Need Resale Certificates?

SALE
OFF

In order to stay in compliance with the state’s tax laws, you need to file certain paperwork for your business. Unlike some states, Texas does not issue special reseller licenses or permits. However, businesses are required to issue resale certificates. Confused about when and how to use resale certificates or how to get them?


Someone just saved $50.84 off their order!

08-18 | Virginia Tax

SALE
OFF

The Taxpayer operates approximately 900 retail locations throughout the United States. Many of the Taxpayer's customers, at the point of sale (POS), make purchases exempt of the sales tax utilizing paper exemption certificates. The customers are tax exempt organizations or are purchasing for resale.


Someone just saved $40.73 off their order!

United States Sales Tax - Cisco

SALE
OFF

How to Obtain Resale and Exemption Certificates. Most states have their own resale certificate forms. Some states require copies of the state-issued sales tax certificate to be issued to the vendors. Other states will accept a multi-jurisdiction form that requests the same information, but lists multiple states.


Someone just saved $33.76 off their order!

Alaska Sales Tax - State Resale Certificate

SALE
OFF

Items must be for resale or qualified business use. Sales Tax Resale Certificate Example: If you go to a wholesaler and buy a computer you plan to sell [like eBay], you may purchase the item without paying state sales tax. Wholesale companies in Alaska require a sales tax resale certificate.


Someone just saved $45.65 off their order!

Certificates of veterinary inspection

SALE
OFF

The following states specifically exempt cats and/or dogs from the CVI requirement: California does not require CVIs for dogs or cats. Georgia does not require CVIs for dogs or cats, however, if the dog or cat is entering Georgia for sale, trade, or exchange for a fee or other type of compensation, a CVI issued within the previous 30 days is ...


Someone just saved $13.64 off their order!

Sales Tax Resale Certificate Completion Guidelines

SALE
OFF

The states of California, Washington DC, Hawaii, Florida, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi and Tennessee do not accept the home state certificate and require us to charge tax on transactions unless we have a resale/exemption certificate with their state registration number.


Someone just saved $29.4 off their order!

Wholesalers need a copy of customer's reseller permit ...

SALE
OFF

Every business that sells at wholesale and has customers' resale certificates on file must now have valid reseller permits or other documentation for those customers. ... Multi-State Tax exemption certificate; ... If a buyer does not have a valid reseller permit or exemption certificate, you need to collect sales tax. You may refuse to make a ...


Someone just saved $41.75 off their order!

The WooCommerce Seller’s Guide to Resale Certificates

SALE
OFF

Keep the resale certificate on file – Most states require that you keep resale certificates on file for approximately four years (time varies by state). Your state’s department of revenue can audit and check that all resale certificates you accepted were valid.


Someone just saved $47.69 off their order!

Approved exemption certificates | Washington Department of ...

SALE
OFF

Businesses that purchase goods for resale must use approved exemption certificates for making wholesale purchases without paying sales tax. Businesses that are required to be registered with the Department may use a: Reseller Permit. Streamlined Sales Tax (SST) Exemption Certificate (with a reseller permit number listed on the certificate) (pdf)


Someone just saved $47.26 off their order!

Multistate Tax Commission - Resources

SALE
OFF

The states vary in their rules regarding requirements for a reseller exemption. Some states require that the reseller (Buyer) be registered to collect sales tax in the state where the reseller makes its purchase. Other states will accept the certificate if an ID number is provided for some other state (e.g., the home state of the Buyer).


Someone just saved $44.35 off their order!

Popular States That Require Resale Certificates Discount Codes & Deals

Offer Discount Type Expiry
Sales Tax by State: How to Use and Accept Resale Certificates Deal Aug 30, 2020
9 States that Won't Accept Your Out-of-State Resale ... Code Aug 25, 2020
10 States that Won't Accept Your Out-of-State Resale ... Code Aug 27, 2020
What is a resale certificate and who can use one? Code Aug 27, 2020
Resale Certificates in 2020: How To Use, Accept & Other ... Code Aug 28, 2020

About States That Require Resale Certificates

Tuicoupon regularly update the results of states that require resale certificates on the page. Currently, the number of active results for states that require resale certificates is 20. That means you will have more choices to save your budget with our coupon. The current highest value of discount reaches 80% off.
Tuicoupon's team constantly works to collect all coupons and helpful information of states that require resale certificates to serve you. In the last days, Tuicoupon has found 13 new states that require resale certificates results. It is an incredible results but the number must go up by multiple times in some special discount occasions of the year.
According to the recent research, we help consumer save 60% on average when using our coupon codes getting by searching states that require resale certificates for each time of shopping.

Can I know how many are States That Require Resale Certificates results active now?

The number of active results for States That Require Resale Certificates as our latest tracking is 16. These results are collected from various sources, pages. The smart algorithm of Tuicoupon did select the best States That Require Resale Certificates related coupon as well as results.
We update States That Require Resale Certificates results regularly. A daily or weekly visit will help you get the latest results.

What if my searching for States That Require Resale Certificates is not active?

It is a rare case at Tuicoupon because most of your searching is available. However, if you meet this case, you can contact our support team at [email protected] Our team will enthusiastically support you.

Why should I work with Tuicoupon.com instead of buying directly on the website?

Because of being buyers as well, T.U.I wants to create an online platform providing Coupons, Discounts, Promotions, Fast Shopping and Money Saving. Not only that, we are always up to date with news, discount programs from our suppliers and partners. Not only does it help you save time and money but also brings you more options for products.

What if I meet problem in products and order?

The team of Tuicoupon is always willing to support you in any problem.
In order to get the fastest support, please contact us at [email protected]